The twelve days of Christmas 12: Coughs and sneezes

Here’s a secret: I’ve been desperately scrabbling around for ideas throughout this ridiculous self-imposed challenge, and they’ve been arriving later and later each day. I was hoping to go out on a high but, due to my total lack of inspiration, I’ve decided to just portray the general ennui afflicting the King/Lyster family.

To be fair, we’re all ill. The house is resounding with the guttural music of three violent coughs, combined with tuneless grumblings about the bad backs our coughs have given us. I guess at least this aspect of the winter has lived up to expectations – although I have to admit that I’d have chosen snow over the common cold.

It’s twelfth night, which means the decorations ought to be coming down, but so far nobody has quite mustered the energy to attack the Christmas tree. Never mind; we can always leave it there for next year. Scan 46

Leave a Reply

